The University is imparting education and training in different branches of Veterinary and Allied sciences. The University offers Bachelor’s Degree only in Veterinary Science and Animal Husbandry in all the three constituent colleges. Postgraduate courses leading to M.V.Sc. & A.H. were introduced in Jabalpur and Mhow Colleges in 1961. Presently, Post graduate degree courses are offered in 17 disciplines (15 in Animal Science, 1 each in Animal Biotechnology and Wildlife Health Management). Doctoral degree programmes with course work are offered in 14 disciplines at Veterinary College, Jabalpur.

The Vishwavidyalaya has adopted the new course curriculum introduced by the Veterinary Council of India (VCI) through Act of 1984 as “Veterinary Council of India (Minimum standards of veterinary education, degree course B.V.Sc.& A.H.) Regulation 1993” and guidelines for B.V.Sc. & A.H. degree programme w.e.f. 1995-96 session. The said Regulations have been revised as per Gazette notification of VCI Act, 2008 (Extraordinary Gazette of India No. 130 dated 06-08-2021). The revised VCI Regulations 2008 have been adopted from the academic year 2009-10.

However, as per revised Gazette Notification of VCI Act 2008, Veterinary Biochemistry has been merged with Veterinary Physiology and named as Veterinary Physiology and Biochemistry and both the Departments of Veterinary Medicine (Vety. Clinical Medicine, Ethics & Jurisprudence and Vety. Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine) have been clubbed together and named as Veterinary Medicine. Thus, as per VCI regulations 2008, there are only 15 approved departments.

Besides the above 15 Departments, the Faculty of Vety. Sci. and A.H., Jabalpur also has Department of Poultry Science. Post graduate teaching is also conducted in Center for Wildlife Forensic and Health and Animal Biotechnology Centre of the Vishwavidayalaya.
A four year Bachelor of Fishery Science (B.F.Sc.) degree programme has been introduced under the College of Fisheries established at Jabalpur from the Academic Session 2012-13 with an intake capacity of 30 seats. The students were admitted according to the merit list provided by the Vyavasayik Pareeksha Mandal, Bhopal through the PMT examination.
The Post-graduate course curricula and academic regulations have been revised as per ICAR guidelines and the same have been introduced in all the constituent colleges of the Viswavidyalaya.
A Diploma course in Animal Husbandry has been initiated by the University at Jabalpur, Mhow, Rewa, Bhopal and Morena with the objective to train grass root level workers and to fulfill the manpower requirement in the fields of animal husbandry and poultry. The candidates with 12th class pass are eligible for admission through a Common Entrance Examination outsourced to Vyavasayik Pareeksha Mandal, Govt. of M.P., Bhopal The duration of the course is 2 years (4 semesters) and the medium of instruction is Hindi. The total intake capacity is 300 seats in 5 colleges. The Common Entrance Examination for 2012-13 session was conducted by Vyavasayik Pareeksha Mandal, Govt. of M.P., Bhopal for the second batch.   

Existing departments in the three Veterinary Colleges after the adoption of VCI regulations, 2008.
S.No.   Department / Unit
1.         Vety. Anatomy
2.         Vety. Physiology  and Biochemistry
3.         Vety. Pharmacology and Toxicology
4.         Vety. Pathology
5.         Vety. Parasitology
6.         Vety. Microbiology
7.         Vety. Public Health
8.         Vety. Medicine
9.         Vety. Gynaecology and Obstetrics
10.       Vety. Surgery and Radiology
11.       Animal Genetics and Breeding
12.       Animal Nutrition
13.       Livestock Production and Management
14.       Livestock Products Technology
15.       Vety. and Animal Husbandry Extension  Education   

College of Fishery Science  

1. Basic Sciences and Humanities

 2. Acquaculture

3. Fisheries Resource Management

4. Aquatic Environment

5. Harvest and Post Harvest Technology